Coastal Plain League Releases 2014 Schedule Print
Thursday, 14 November 2013 17:33

The Coastal Plain League announced today its schedule for the 2014 summer season. Celebrating its eighteenth season in 2013, the CPL will again feature 14 teams across North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.

The regular season starts on Tuesday, May 27 and runs through Monday, August 4. The league’s annual All-Star Fan Fest and All-Star Game will be on July 13 and 14. The location of the 2014 CPL All-Star Game will be announced in the coming weeks.

The league will be split into two divisions - East and West - with seven teams in each. The East will be made up of the Edenton Steamers, Fayetteville SwampDogs, Morehead City Marlins, Peninsula Pilots, Petersburg Generals, Wilmington Sharks and Wilson Tobs. Meanwhile, the West will feature the Asheboro Copperheads, Columbia Blowfish, Florence RedWolves, Forest City Owls, Gastonia Grizzlies, Martinsville Mustangs and Thomasville HiToms.

All together, each team will play a 56-game regular season schedule, with 28 games per club in the first half and another 28 in the second half. Like in years past, the schedule will have a large concentration on divisional games but will also feature an unbalanced look.

The Petitt Cup Playoffs will again consist of three rounds beginning on August 6 and running through August 16. In all, eight CPL teams (four in the East and four in the West) will make the postseason, including the first half and second half champions for both divisions, with the remaining teams qualifying as at-large bids. Each series through all three rounds will be a best-of-three series. The lower seed (i.e. seeds 3 & 4 in each division) in each series will host game one, while the higher seed (i.e. seeds 1 & 2 in each division) will host game two and three (if necessary) in each round.

The two teams surviving round one in each division will play for the East and West Division Championships, with the two division winners battling it out in the Petitt Cup Championship Series with the same rules applying as in the second round. The team winning two games in this series will be crowned the 2014 Coastal Plain League Petitt Cup Champion.

About the Coastal Plain League:
The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 18th season in 2014, the CPLfeatures 14 teams playing in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL gives college players the chance to refine their skills with the use of wooden bats. Players are housed with local host families for the summer and past experiences have been very positive for both players and hosts. Further more, the CPL has had over 1,100 alumni drafted and 65 alums – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut thus far. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to friend us on Facebook (at and follow us via Twitter (as CPLBaseball).